What I learn from my elderly travel buddies. Entrepreneurship

Posted on February 23, 2012

3



I used to work 50-55 hours a week for a financial services company that was only paying me for the most part for 40 hours. I woke up in the morning thinking about work, went to work all day, stayed late, and then came home thinking about work. I barely went out and enjoyed myself. I never took vacation days and even if I had a high fever I wouldn’t think of calling off. On my worst days I’d do a half day setting off a wave of sickness in the office. I broke records in that company and created sales records that stood unchallenged. Yes I was proud. I saw many promotions and then the market crashed and my records no longer meant anything as countless colleagues were kicked to the curb..We meant nothing…..

On my travels I meet a lot of elderly friends. As we stand in line at some museum or some attraction waiting in line, the conversations start. Many have told me its their first time out of the country. They worked all their lives and waited until retirement to take a breath of fresh air and leave the country. I’ve been asked by some how and why I’m traveling now in my 20’s…why not work hard and wait until I’m 70 to enjoy traveling.

The market crash made me realize that it’s time to take a deep breath of air for the first time in years. While others around me were having nervous breakdowns and panicking I was calmer and freer than I had felt in years. My whole world and career projectory had been shattered almost overnight. Yet it freed me up to think outside of the box and begin to discover what it is that I love and figure out a way to profit off of that. I want to work hard for MY dream. It’s been a long journey but travel is helping me discover what I love about life.

I’m happy for the elderly travelers that they are finally able to live their dreams after 50 years or so of working hard. But why can’t our dreams be our daily life? Why are we so hardwired to suffer for someone else’s dream and wait until we are elderly to enjoy ours. Trust me I have spoken with many an executive at the airport on their way to St. Bart’s or the Caribbean and they are living their dreams…

Many people my age say they will start a business later on, run for office later on, travel later on….For what? So that you can hobble up the steps of the Basilique du Sacre-coeur in Paris and take a picture before your painful arthritis sets in? The lessons you learn on your trip…will it be too late to implement? Just a thought…I live by carpe diem. Thoughts?

Posted in: Inspiration